LAA Wings awards

LAA WINGS offers you the chance to get more from your flying and, at the same time meets the requirements of the new CAA PROUD, Pilot Recognition for Operational Up-skilling and Development scheme, to improve the skill levels of private pilots. Developed in conjunction with the Light Aircraft Association Pilot Coaching Scheme, you can either use current experience or challenge yourself with developing new flying skills, to win BRONZE, SILVER Or GOLD LAA Wings.


Signing-up to the LAA WINGS scheme is free to any LAA member. The scheme is open to any other pilots too, although a £15 fee is payable to cover costs of administration. Check out the requirements below for the BRONZE, SILVER, or GOLD awards and apply to the Light Aircraft Association for your LAA WINGS right now!


1. Flying experience

LAA WINGS are available to all licence holders, whether they are LAA members or not, who meet the minimum requirements for total flight time and as pilot-in-command. For aeroplane pilots, experience counted must be gained in the following classes of aircraft:

* Single Engine Piston (SEP);
* Single Engine Turboprop (SET);
* Simple Single Engine Aeroplanes (SSEA);
* Multi-Engine Piston (MEP);
* Touring Motor Glider (TMG);
* Self Launching Motor Glider (SLMG);
* Microlight.

LAA Wings BRONZE: 100 hours TOTAL, 50 hours PIC
LAA Wings SILVER: 250 hours TOTAL, 200 hours PIC
LAA Wings GOLD: 500 hours TOTAL, 400 hours PIC

For the LAA Wings BRONZE award, the total flight time and pilot-in-command time are set to encourage participation in the scheme and encourage continued development as a private pilot.


2. Achievements

Just flying more hours doesn’t necessarily mean you have a greater depth of knowledge or breadth of experience. So the LAA Award scheme recognises additional training or achievements leading to the addition of ratings or certificates.

As a pilot develops his/her flying experience from the LAA Wings BRONZE award through to GOLD, each stage of the scheme requires Achievements to be completed. The list of Achievements are listed on the Eligible Activities page. This list is not exhaustive but gives examples of the scope for pilots to select a combination of achievements that suit their personal choices. Here are a few examples:

2.1 Pilot Qualifications

* Night Rating
* Instrument Rating (Restricted)
* Mountain Rating
* Aerobatics Rating

2.2 Certificates

* Radio Navigation certificate
* Ground Instructor certificate

2.3 Training

* LAA Strip Flying Diploma
* LAA Cross-channel checkout
* LAA Proficient Pilot Diploma (coming soon!)

2.4 Activities

* Complete a LAA World Record (coming soon!)
* Complete a Royal Aero Club handicapped Air Race

LAA Wings BRONZE: 1 Achievement
LAA Wings SILVER: 3 Achievements
LAA Wings GOLD: 5 Achievements

Achievements used in gaining previous awards may be counted towards successive awards.

3. Safety event attendance

Attendance at Safety Seminars and associated safety training courses help develop pilot knowledge and understanding which are essential in the continued development towards greater situational awareness. A list of acceptable safety events are on the Eligible Activities page, and include:

* LAA Seminar
* LAA Air-Ground Operator Course
* LAA Engineering Courses
* GASCo safety evening
* Military civil air safety days
* Other Aircraft maintenance engineering course
* Flight instructor seminars
* PPL master classes

LAA Wings BRONZE: 1 Safety Event
LAA Wings SILVER: 2 Safety Events
LAA Wings GOLD: 3 Safety Events


4. Extended navigational challenges

Many pilots never venture out of their local area, which is both limiting in terms of enjoyment and fulfilment, but also stifles development and confidence. The LAA Wings scheme therefore includes a requirement for applicants to complete longer navigational flights, which are demanding of more knowledge and skill.

Pilots have to complete a cross country flight which is more challenging in terms of distance or navigation skills required than the navigational exercise undertaken for the initial issue of the pilot licence.

Flights must include landings and take-offs from a number of airfields en route, and may also include a sea crossing of more than 20nm.

The applicant is required to show that the appropriate flight requirements have been met when applyin for LAA Wings Award as indicated below:


Total flight distance of greater than 200nm with at least two intermediate take-offs and landings.


Total flight distance of greater than 400nm with at least three intermediate take-offs and landings, OR flight distance of 200nm with a sea crossing greater than 20nm AND completion of BRONZE challenge.


Total flight distance of greater than 600nm with at least four intermediate take-offs and landings, OR flight distance of 400nm with a sea crossing greater than 20nm AND completion of BRONZE and SILVER challenges.


More information about each level of the LAA WINGS scheme here:

Bronze Award
Silver Award
Gold Award